Wedding: Allie and Aaron

Hello Friends,

It’s about time I put some wedding photos up, because I have done a few weddings. And by few, I might two. Two weddings. When I started picking up more freelance gigs, I told myself and others that I would refuse to do weddings because I was scared I would ruin their big day. Then, not even a week after I proclaimed this, I agreed to do my SAI sister, Allie’s, wedding. I can’t say no to a sister!

So I bucked up and did it. So this was my very first wedding I shot which happened in the August of 2011, a few weeks after I got back from Barcelona.

There was just me, trying to work two cameras (one from the back of the church and one in my hand), seven groomsmen and seven bridesmaids, a large family, an equally large group of our Sisters and Brother from Phi Mu, and of course the bride and groom, Allie and Aaron.

I think I did okay for my first wedding and they liked the photos so I guess it was a win win.

Here are a few from the many photos of Allie and Aaron day:

31663328

32693786

35123762

35893609

3670

3680

And here is one from the reception that I wanted to share. During the reception, all the SAI sisters in attendance gather in a circle with the bride and sing to her. It’s something special we do.

3989

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Tips and Tricks:

  • Never say never. This was an amazing experience for me and I’m still learning and that’s okay.
  • No matter how tempting it is, don’t kill THAT groomsman that makes it his mission to be a pain in your ass all day.
  • Have your own step stool handy if you are a shortie like me. At 5 foot 3 inches tall, shooting large groups is a challenge and I need all the height I can get. I ended up taking a lot of the post-ceremony shots from a ladder. IT WAS TERRIFYING.
  • Smile – because you will get through your first wedding
Leave a Reply

