Random Thoughts: My Other Job

Hello Friends

I know that in my description I said that that I am a freelance photographer and graphic designer/artist. Well I thought I should post some of my work from my “other job” which is actually my full time job.

But before I get there, I wanted to tell you how I got here.

I never actually meant to be a graphic artist. It wasn’t in my game plan. I wanted to be a photographer and nothing else. I was going to take every photography class possibly and just deal with  working at 6am Tuesdays and Thursdays flipping breakfast sausage patties on the grill at the University cafeteria.

My first year and a half I spent working there in Food Service for the University until one magical day when a fellow grill worker whispered to me, “You should find a different job – I’ve seen your art homework.”

I blushed, I didn’t show my work much. I asked her if she knew a different job where I could do art. And Low and Behold! She did! After work she slipped me an application to Design Services at the Student center – they made all the posters and promo material around campus. It was a long shot especially since I didn’t know how to use any of the Adobe programs. I decided, who gives a f**k, I’m going to interview and see what happens.

Two weeks later, while being interviewed, the manager, said, “Your photography work is good for not having any classes yet. Too bad you don’t know Photoshop -“

“Give me three days, and I will.” I interrupted her. I didn’t even know what I was saying, but I knew I didn’t want to go back to flipping meat patties.

She took me up on the challenge, she told me to come back Monday and prove to her I could do it. After I left, I checked out every photoshop, illustrator, and indesign manual and book I could find in the library and bought a new container of coffee. I learned as much as I could in three days and got the job.

And now, almost 5 years later, I work as a full time graphic artist for a global company. I still want to be a full time photographer, but this is the perfect job for me until I can get to my goal. And don’t get me wrong, I absolutely love designing, and in a way, photography and designing go hand in hand. I’m grateful and happy that this game charger happened to me and I wouldn’t change it at all.

storm

5da7f3b80e16d2419e602a804ea2f7fe 13dbc0a3ed8e6475296e8c7f8cba4e84

069c507efd33c74678063d8491386fb9 d6222655ebc3628079fec05554fe828f

dream_by_gorgeousgeek-d675lq4

fca324457b96411800628d7a9ecbe9e1 i_will_let_you_go_____by_gorgeousgeek-d4csgpc

open_mic_poster_by_gorgeousgeek-d3du7jerecital_poster_for_sara_by_gorgeousgeek-d6yjdcu zumba_against_cancer_poster_by_gorgeousgeek-d3du9a3

Leave a Reply

