Cositas: Tobi

This is my puppy Tobi. He is a naughty little thing but we love him all the same. He is beagle, coon hound, vizla, and lab.

This is my puppy Tobi. He is a naughty little thing but we love him all the same. He is beagle, coon hound, vizla, and lab.

We got Tobias James the summer before I left for college. Tobi was meant to be my replacement.

One night at the dinner table, my young brother goes: So, Kaitie is going to college…

Mom: And?

Brother: We should get a dog.

Me: What? So it can replace me when I leave.

Brother: Exactly. A dog is a better replacement than what I had in mind a originally.

Mom: And that was?

Brother: A squirrel.

So the following week, while my brother was in driver’s ed class, Mom and I went to the animal shelter. We were in luck, a mama pup had a huge litter ready for adoption. I went out back to the puppy pen, climbed in, and was swarmed by 15 adorable puppies. I remember standing as still and as quietly as possible, knowing the puppies would be bored of me after a few minutes.

I was right.

A few minutes later, all the the puppies ran away. All but one.

Tobi.

Tobi, a week after we got him, helping me pack for college.

Tobi, a week after we got him, helping me pack for college.

Leave a Reply

