Portraits: London

Hello Friends!

Not too long ago, I had the pleasure of doing my very first toddler session.

A coworker of mine wanted photos for her granddaughter’s 3rd birthday. I said yes and started to prepare myself. I had no idea what I was in for. After doing some research I packed up a crate filled with picnic supplies, toys, glitter and bubbles. All of which ended up all over the park. But that was okay.

Little London here reminded me that 3 year old’s never sit still, will not pose for you, have about 20 different emotions and reactions running through them all at the same time, and you never know whats going to happen.

I loved it.

First thing we did was set up the picnic. This way, I figured, she could get to know me and get use to me. It probably helped that I brought two cartons of strawberries for her. Once she was use to me, I let London look at my camera, because let’s be honest, to a 3 year old it looks scary. I also had a small point and shoot camera with me. I showed her how to use it and we actually took pictures of each other! She loved it and it also gave her time to adjust to my camera and me taking pictures of her.

Then I spent the next couple of hours, chasing London around as she chased ducks, bubbles, and bees.

Here are a few photos from that day:

4567  4627

4614  4617

4672  4678

4722

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Location: Waukesha, WI

Camera: Canon 50D

Tips and Tricks:

  • Bubbles apparently are a great prop, no matter the age group in my opinion
  • Candid moments are great, even if someone is making a funny face
  • Let the kids bring any toys or books or things they want, they will be more comfortable and the photos become more personal

Leave a Reply

